?

Log in

romance_review's Journal
 
[Most Recent Entries] [Calendar View] [Friends]

Below are the 20 most recent journal entries recorded in romance_review's LiveJournal:

[ << Previous 20 ]
Monday, December 17th, 2007
4:36 pm
[free_excerpts]
Excerpt: Medicine, Horses, & Motherhood
I have permission from publisher Sunstone Press to distribute an excerpt from an unusual crossover novel by Texas surgeon Barbara Bergin. "Endings" mixes Bergin's own worlds of medicine, horses, and motherhood with a strong romantic core.

It's the story of Leslie Cohen, a 40-year-old doctor who perpetually takes temporary "locum tenens" assignments to stay on the move. While filling in for an orthopedist in Abilene, Texas, she meets a man who might make her quit running.

"Endings" is laced with loving descriptions of ranch and horse life, packed with fascinating accounts of medical procedures, and loaded with mystery surrounding Leslie's hidden history.

The excerpt is entitled "Reining" and is a detailed scene at a horse event that Leslie and her date attend. It shows off the author's background as a nationally ranked horsewoman.

You can read the excerpt at the following URL:

http://www.authorviews.com/authors/bergin/excerpt.php
Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
6:32 pm
[rainbowjess88]
Hey, just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Jessica and I am from Florida. I enjoy such authors as Danielle Steel, Nora Robberts, and Dee Henderson. The list goes on and on but these are the only ones I wanted to mension for now. If you want to know me read my journal. The same goes for contacting. It is all in my profile.
Friday, July 28th, 2006
7:35 pm
[sweetumms33]
Hello, I just wanted to add another review. I just finished  Sabrina Jeffries' Never Seduce a Scoundrel. While I don't really get how the title applies to the book, the story was okay. Not the best, not the worst. It's set in England after the war of 1812.  Amelia is an heiress who wants to have an adventure. She get's one in the form of Lucas Winter, an American, who is investigating her step-mother. It attempts to be a cat and mouse spy game between the two of them, but it nevert truly  pulls it off. I would give it a three out of five. Not as good as my current fave author, Lisa Kleypas. Has anyone else read any of Sabrina's books?
Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
11:03 pm
[pinkvinylpurse]
match me if you can
hello,
i'm new in this community and i'm excited to have stumbled upon it.

anyway, my post is about recommending susan elizabeth phillips' latest book called 'match me if you can'. it's about this character named annabelle granger who's pursuing a matchmaking business she inherited from her grandmother. she's determined to land the leading chicago's top hunk sports agent bachelor heath champion to become her top client. and i'll leave it at that for you to read the rest.

i just finished reading it a few days ago but i really enjoyed reading, so i'm re-reading from the beginning once again.

the book has a mixture of everything from comedy to drama. so it's really an enjoyable read in my opinion.

Current Mood: awake
Monday, November 7th, 2005
10:08 am
[theatergal06]
I'm really sorry but I needed to advertise so please don't be mad. So if you guys love J.D Robb (Nora Roberts other pen name) you guys should join my new community, it's called RPG in death and my name is I_am_Eve_Dallas, check it out sometime! Thanks for letting me do that. Sorry to be disruptive.
Wednesday, June 8th, 2005
4:21 pm
[flyergirl]
I apologize in advance if this type of post is not allowed. Just leave me a comment if it's not.

Some new romance book communities:

kr_books - for Karen Robards fans
vlt_books - for Vicki Lewis Thompson fans
hq_blaze - for Harlequin Blaze series fans

If you're interested, please join!

Current Mood: morose
Friday, April 15th, 2005
1:18 pm
[lisagrace]
New Vampire series- heads up
It's called the Darkyn series. By Lynn Viehl (I think). The book is called If Angels Burn. It's good, very good.

I don't know how many of you out there are a fan of the vampire/romance genre (at least 1 person out there), but this one is even better than Sherrilyn Kenyon in my opinion. It's so good that I just picked it up yesterday before work, started it on my lunch, then I was still up all night reading it. I'm just about done, I've got like 20 pages left and I'm not ready for it to end. I realized that I was almost done and felt REAL disappointment, which is rare.

It's kind of gory (for me). There's lots of mention of the gross, bloody details, that I usually like to skim over. There is also the development of the villains, which I think is pretty interesting. You start to understand how they work. It leaves you with lots of questions and ready to read the next book (which unfortunately doesn't come out until October).

The only thing that was a little disappointing is that I don't really get the romance development with this one. It is great fiction, but I don't think that it's really a romance. It's like at the end all of a sudden they are in love. There was no development of the feelings, or at least there wasn't very much. However, I haven't reached the official end yet, so maybe that is premature.

Current Mood: excited
Sunday, April 10th, 2005
5:53 pm
[lankykribit]
Lisa Kleypas
I just started a Lisa Kleypas community for anyone who is interested: lisakleypas
Sunday, March 27th, 2005
1:24 am
[lisagrace]
I Hunger for You-Susan Sizemoore
Has anyone else been reading this series? I think this is her third one. The first one was I Burn for You, the second was I Thirst for You, and then there is this one.

If you haven't been clued in by the titles it's a vampire series. The first one I didn't especially like, but I loved the second and the third is just as good. I just finished it tonight and I started it last night. (I should have been sleeping since I had to go to work early Saturday, but when a good book calls who am I to resist it?)

It's totally different from the Dark Hunter series, it is actually pretty unique by itself. You don't have to read the first book in the series to get what is going on in the third. Each of the stories is pretty much stand alone. There are some reoccurring characters, and in this one there are some references to the other stories, but nothing major. However, they do introduce characters that I would love to see future stories about. I can see this series going on for a long time.

The development in the beginning isn't really there. It jumps about six months in time, missing the beginning phases of their relationship (which is my favorite part in a love story). Other than that I was real happy with the story, and I can't wait to see what will happen with this series in the future.

I'd give it 3 out of 4 stars.

Current Mood: content
Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
6:58 pm
[nyx2nemesis]
Just finished reading "Trouble with Valentine's Day" by Rachel Gibson. Very fluffy, but actually kinda cute. Lacked some serious character developement, but since I was reading it on break at work it didn't really matter.

Current Mood: cheerful
4:25 pm
[lady_auset]
Mr. Romance
Okay, this is just an FYI. I don't if you guys know about this or not, so I'll explain. Mr. Romance comes on tonight, original airing was last night, at 7:00 p.m. Central time. What this is is like a male beauty pageant thing that's put on by Romantic Times. The winner walks away with $50,000 and a guaranteed spot as a cover model for romance novels.They're going to have the past couple winners up there. Should prove to be an unbelievable hour of yumminess! Can't wait. Would have caught it last night, but I had to work.

So, there it is! Hope you all watch it. I think it's coming on pretty much all month long, but I'm not sure. Check your local listings. Oh, btw, it comes on the cable channel Oxygen. Gotta love channels for women! :-D

Ciao,
Shanna

Current Mood: cheerful
Monday, February 14th, 2005
7:51 pm
[nyx2nemesis]
Hi I'm a new member. I've only been on a few months and finally got around to finding some good communities. As I work in a bookstore I sometimes get advanced copies of things. This week my manager gave me a few and one of them was "To the Edge"-The Bodyguards by Cindy Gerard. It put me in mind of a kind of Suzanne Brockmann book. It sets it up for at least 3 others as this is the first about the usual family full of gorgeous siblings who all work together. But anyway, I tend to ramble, I gave it about a 3 or 3 1/2 out of 5.

Current Mood: excited
Friday, January 28th, 2005
8:21 pm
[lady_auset]
New name, same old me...
This is just to let you know that I've started this new account -- felt like I needed a change. Hopefully, I'll be posting on here more often.

~Shanna
(Member formerly known as Aradia_Moon)
7:17 pm
[aradia_moon]
A new one I just finished reading...
Last week was one of the worst weeks of my life. My grandfather, whom I loved so dearly and was very close to, passed away. Since then, it has torn me apart inside. I've moved in with my grandmother for a while to make it a little easier on her. So, last weekend, I went to BAM, one of my usual haunts. I figured I could use a little cheering up, for however long it lasted. So, I bought a contemporary romance that was comical. It was so funny! And so very cheesy. So cheesy that I just had to try it out. It's called "What Do You Say To A Naked Elf?" it's by Cheryl Sterling. Here, I'll quote the back for you:

"Apart from her being a TV-and-movie junkie and a saleswoman extraordinaire of adult lotions, potions and play-things, plain Jane Drysdale's life was nothing unusual. That was, until a moment of reckless driving catapulted her into a fairytale world like a J.R.R. Tolkien book on crack. From Walker, Michigan, to a place of wacko wizards, sexually repressed elves and dangerous dwarves, Jane was suddenly fulfilling an epic destiny that held certain death--and even more certain love. Even the newly legible tattoo on her shoulder seemed to proclaim the rightness of her transport: "Forever joined, heart up on heart, world up on world." Everything started with Jane on trial for her life and her Legolas-lokalike lawyer taking his shirt off, and the first thing she needed to know was...
What Do You Say to a Naked Elf? One or two things sprang to mind."

See? I just had to read it. It was a guaranteed laugh. I read it in about a day. I highly recommend it.

Current Mood: stressed
Monday, January 24th, 2005
1:18 am
[lisagrace]
Siren-Cheryl Sawyer
I just finished this one about 20 minutes ago. I liked it so much that I had to post immediately.

This one is kind of long so I cut it.

Read more about SirenCollapse )

To sum it up. I highly recommend this book. If you want a really good romantic story, with history and action thrown in read this book!

Current Mood: content
Friday, January 21st, 2005
2:23 am
[lisagrace]
Hot Target-Suzanne Brockmann
I bought this book while I was on vacation. I read her previous one Flashpoint. And I was really impressed with that. Although I was kind of confused as to how the two main characters fell in love. There was so much drama/action in the book that it downplayed the love story. In Hot Target there is a lot going on as well, but the love story is very much there. This was a great story overall. It didn't just focus on the two central characters. There were more side characters. You got to see their stories as well, and it totally got me interested in what was going to happen further down the line with them, Specifically Jules and Robin. It had me at hello! From the very beginning I was COMPLETELY drawn to this story. There is a dedication to her son at the beginning that is like three pages long. Usually I skip over dedications, and stuff like that. Just give it a quick skim. But also, usually dedications are like 1/8th of a page. This one was all to one person, and it told a story. It was to her son, who is gay, and I guess she kind of has a character in the story that represents him, Jules. Jules has been in a few of her stories. I've been a fan of hers for a while, but not long enough to understand the workings of the ongoing characters in her story. Jules is an ongoing character. He comes in and out of her stories. I really just started reading her in the last year, year and a half. Anyways. Jules is a central character in this story. This story is as much about him as it is about the two main characters. The book is nowhere near me, so I can't tell you their names at the moment. Obviously Jules and Robin really stuck with me. I have found myself wondering what happens with them. I read the book weeks ago, and I still think about these characters as if they are friends of mine, people that I know intimately. She did an excellent job. The man and the woman, the leads (Forgive me, this is horrible I know. I let my mom borrow the book and I'm horrible with names.) The woman is a movie producer, the man is a Navy SEAL.(There is just something about Navy SEALs that turns me on. I think that it's all Ms. Brockman's fault too! Her series!) Well he has to take a Hiatus from being a SEAL. While on Hiatus he is working as a bodyguard for a movie producer who is received death threats over a movie she is making. They fall in love. There are also many other secondary central characters in this book that have a say in the way the story flows. If you buy one book so far this year it should be this book. The storyline is great! As I said, I bought while I was on vacation in Orlando. The last day of my vacation I hardly did anything because I had started this book and I wasn't going to put it down until I knew what happened. At times it was so suspensful that I had to put it down or my head was going to explode. At least that is how it felt at the time. I was flying Southwest, so it may have been partially hunger, but it was mostly the action(s) in the book. Buy this book!

Current Mood: pleased
Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
3:40 pm
[aradia_moon]
a big hello
As promised, I am posting once again, while I have the time. Since most don't read the responses to posts that were in the past, I'll introduce myself. My name is Shanna. I'm 24, and I live in Alabama. I bounce back and forth between Birmingham and Blountsville. I have been reading romances since I was about 11 years old. Hell, my mom even named me after one ("Shanna" by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, to be precise). I read all sorts of romances. I read historicals, contemporaries, vampiric, lycanthropic, supsensful, all types, like I said. The only ones that I really read that aren't romances and are for entertainment, are the two series by Laurell K. Hamilton; Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter, and the Merry Gentry series. Of the two, I think Anita kicks more ass, even if she is turning into a ho. You've gotta love her wit and the men in her life... sorry, had to pause and wipe up the drool. If you haven't ever read the series, I really really REALLY suggest that you do. You just might learn a thing or two.

In the contemporaries, my favorite authors would have to be Sandra Hill, Susan Donovan, Susan Anderson, and a few others I can't think of at the moment. I love all of them that can make me laugh. I've got a thing for Julie Kenner's Aphrodite series. In the suspense romances, I like Nora Roberts (naturally), and Jayne Anne Krentz. Ooh, my two favorite vampire romance authors are Sherrilyn Kenyon and Christine Feehan. The men in those are just yummy.

I think I'm going to stop there. I can go on all afternoon talking about this. *big grin* So, that's me. I'm a true romantic and just weird enough to keep things interesting.

Current Mood: creative
Thursday, June 24th, 2004
3:04 am
[lisagrace]
Public Displays of Affection
PDA, also known as Public Displays of Affection. This is my fist time reading a book by Susan Donovan, and I really loved it. I'm going to have to go back and see what else I can find by her, because I loved the story.

Joe and Charlotte met 13 years before the story takes place. Charlotte was on her way to the airport to pick up her soon-to-be-fiancee, when she and Joe hook up on the side of the road, and I do mean hook up.

13 years later, Charlotte is a widow leaving in Ohio (I think, I'm horrible with retaining names) with two children. Joe is in the DEA hiding out from the leader of a cartel, and winds up living next door to Charlotte. They soon find out that they are each living next to that person that they spent one amazing afternoon with and have spent the last 13 years thinking about.

Charlotte's husband never compared with Joe, Charlotte has has a vivid fantasy life all revolving around Joe. However, she doesn't want to get involved with him because of issues with guilty, the kids, and basically her inner demons. Joe can't get involved because he's dealing with the murder of his partner, and doesn't want to risk putting Charlotte in danger.

There is a host of other characters, neighbors, other people in the town that add to the story and make it that much more fulfilling. This is another steamy (somewhat) one. There are lots of obstacles to overcome, and sometimes I just wanted to scream, "Tell him/her already!" The end was great. I love how it ended. It tied everything up, and of course it was happy. (The key ingredient to a romance novel, the happy ending). I was really rooting for Joe, I fell in love with him a little bit myself. I can't wait to see what else Susan Donovan does.
3:02 am
[lisagrace]
Sooner or Later- Debbie Macomber
This looks like it is a re-release, although I've never seen it before.

Right off the bat I'll say that some parts were a little unbelievable/annoying/over the top. But overall, for some reason I really liked this book.

We have a small-town Texas post mistress, the daughter of a preacher who doesn't want to be anything like her mother, Letty Madden. Letty wants to hire Murphy to take her into Zarcero, a Latin American country that has been taken over by terrorists, to save her twin brother who was there as a missionary. (What a sentence).

Murphy is a mercenary, part of a team of mercenaries who do work like this on a semi-regular basis. Murphy is in Boothill, Texas for some R&R. He doesn't want to go into Zarcero on a mission that he sees as doomed to fail. Let's just say that they strike a deal (which she sort of kind of reneges on) and end up on their way to Zarcero.

Letty is the one that annoyed me in this book. She just seemed too nice sometimes, or too hung up. She had quite a few obstacles to overcome within herself. It did add to the story, but it also tended to drive me a little crazy. Murphy is the strong silent type, not too demonstrative, but very efficient.

While in Zarcero they manage to piss off somebody high up in the rebel military, and end up running for their lives/freedom a lot of the time.At times it was a little stereotypical, a little predictable, but overall a good story.

Also in this book there are a couple of side stories. We have Letty's brother. The missionary who is captured by the terrorists/rebels. We also have Jack, on of Murphy's mercenary team mates, and Marcie. They had a good story as well. Johnny came in and out of Marcie's life at will. When she finally gives up on him and starts to move on he shows back up and realizes that he wants Marcie for himself. Who will Marcie choose? Not who I was hoping for, that's for sure!
3:01 am
[lisagrace]
Jane's Warlord- Angela Knight
Paranormal, entertaining, steamy. very steamy.

We have Jane Colby, and Baran Arvid. Jane is a reporter who actually owns the newspaper. She inherited it from her father, (and she has MAJOR father issues) it is a significant issue in the book. Jane has a thing for romance novels (who can blame her?) and lingerie, and so does Baran (as we find out in the first 20 pages).

Baran is a man of the future who has been forced to come back to present day America (One of the Carolinas I believe, but forget which one) to protect Jane from a serial killer who travels through time to carve women up. Baran isn't really a man, he's a Warlord. He is bigger, stronger, faster, and has a built in computer! Baran has a revved up sex drive, so it is really no wonder that sex is a key component to this book.

Freika is a minor character, a wolf from the future. Baran's side kick. He has some interesting byplay with Jane's cat. It mostly seems like he's there for comic relief (like Donkey in Shrek) oh and of course to let the girl in on things that the big, bad warlord won't say himself.

There is the serial killer, called a jump killer, who scared me. I've already admitted that I was a wuss, so I can easily say that if I was at home alone after dark I did not read it. It freaked me out. The fight scenes are pretty good. The thing that was weird to me was Baran talking to his computer, it just didn't seem to flow to well when I was reading those parts. Also, I didn't like the ending. It didn't work that well for me.

This book gets real hot real fast.I wasn't really expecting it when I picked the book out, but I wouldn't say that it was a </b>bad</b> surprise. It was one that I really enjoyed. I flew through it and can't wait for the next one from Angela Knight. I wonder if it will be another warlord? I hope so.
[ << Previous 20 ]
About LiveJournal.com